COUNTY OF ST. PAUL NO. 19

BY-LAW NO. 1530

A By-law of the County of St. Paul No. 19 in the Province of Alberta, to provide for the election of the Chief Elected Official by vote of the Electors of the County of St. Paul and to alter the boundaries of the wards into 6 divisions.

WHEREAS Section 150 of the *Municipal Government Act* provides that the Chief Elected Official of a County is to be appointed by Council from among the Councillors unless Council passes a Bylaw providing that the Chief Elected Official is to be elected by vote of the electors of the municipality;

AND WHEREAS Council has received a sufficient petition requesting a Bylaw to provide for the Chief Elected Official to be elected by vote of the electors of the municipality and to alter the boundaries of the wards (known as divisions) so that the County will be divided into six (6) divisions, each represented by one Councillor;

NOW THEREFORE, Council of the County of St. Paul, in the Province of Alberta, duly assembled, hereby enacts as follows:

- 1. The Chief Elected Official shall be elected by vote of the electors of the County.
- 2. The boundaries of the existing seven (7) wards (known as divisions) shall be altered so that the County will be divided into six (6) divisions, each represented by one Councillor.
- 3. This Bylaw shall be operative for purposes of the general election in 2010.

Read a first time this 12th day of May, 2009.

Advertised as required by Sections 149 and 151 of the *Municipal Government Act* on May 26th and June 2nd in the St. Paul Journal and Elk Point Review.

Read a second this 10th day of November, 2009.

Read a third time and finally passed this 10th day of November, 2009.

(Original Signed by Reeve R. Bouchard)	(Original Signed by CAO Sheila Kitz)
Reeve	Chief Administrative Officer