Waste Management

Home » Waste Management

Waste Management in the County of St. Paul

Waste management in the County of St. Paul is administered through our county office. If you have any questions, please contact us.

Waste Management & Transfer Stations

County Transfer Stations are now operating on Winter Hours.   
County transfer stations and bins are located throughout the region.
Link to locations and operating hours

Solid Waste Disposal Charge Account Form (as of January 1, 2022)
For disposal of cement, shingles, general demolition, mixed loads, fridges/ freezers, and other

The Transfer Stations in the County are busy! 
Between 2017 and 2021, there has been a 98% increase in the amount of items Waste Management handles and processes. 

Amount and Types of Waste being brought to the County Transfer Stations - 
Household waste 27%
Inert Waste 26%
Burnables 19%
Scrap Metal  17%
Take it or Leave it sites 12% 
Cardboard  4%
Used Oil  3%
And other materials not listed above

Since the Recycling Beverage Container Program began in October 2020, residents have dropped off their empty beverage containers to Transfer Stations.  Through this program and the work of society/ club members, over 71,600 beverage containers have been recycled (as of November 2022). 
Proceeds from returned beverage containers has gone back to support the Elk Point 4-H Beef Club, Lac Sante Recreation Family Society and
the Mallaig and District Ag Society

Please continue your support by dropping off empty beverage containers at the Transfer Stations.  
The program will continue until December 31, 2023.
Thank you to everyone who contributed their containers.  Please continue to support these organizations. 

Automotive batteries are not accepted at the Transfer Stations.  Please return these batteries to the place of purchase for recycling. 

The following items are accepted at Transfer Stations in addition to small batteries and cell phones, electronics, light bulbs and styrofoam:

Removal of debris. Construction waste. Building demolition. Devastation background

Waste material from building, construction and demolition sites.
Information on demolition materials
Building Demolition Permit for Building Demolition and a Hazardous Waste/ Asbestos Certificate
The completed permit must be submitted to either Tim Mahdiuk or Warren Leister for approval (see contact information below).


Household Waste


Metals, including appliances, electronics
and scrap metals.


Paints, oils, pesticide jugs, propane tanks, used oil and filters and other hazardous material.


Dry Waste (i.e. furniture, inert waste, etc.)
Accepted at Ashmont, Mallaig, Elk Point and Evergreen Transfer Stations only.



Plastic Twine

Free collection bags for collecting plastic twine are available at the County’s Transfer Stations. 

Why plastic twine should be recycled    Burning the twine is one of the worst options because it releases toxins. It’s estimated that 2,200 tonnes  of plastic twine, on average, is generated on Alberta farms in a year.  That’s a lot that could end up in landfills. 

This pilot project will run until August 2023.  
[Note:  The Town of St. Paul and Town of Elk Point Transfer Stations and Evergreen Waste Management Transfer Stations are not part of this pilot project.]  

Link to Poster


Variety of red white and black waste car tires piled in a big pile

Vehicle tires.
Since 2017, 635,510 kgs have been hauled away for recycling.

Air Conditioning Units, Dehumidifiers, Freezers, Fridges, & Water Coolers: $20 Freon removal fee per unit

We also accept gently used items for reuse!

Take it or Leave it sites are available at all six County Transfer Stations.



NOTICE:  Between 2022 and 2024, the <23L pesticide and fertilizer container recycling program will transition from a municipal-based collection model to a retail-based collection model. 

The change is being phased in gradually to reduce the burden on retail and municipal services, and to increase convenience for farmers who can now bring the containers back to the retail outlets that they frequent.

Link to Cleanfarms information

Scheduled dates for County Transfer Stations when the pesticide and fertilizer container recycling program will be closing:
Evergreen Regional Landfill - December 2024
Ashmont, Mallaig, St. Lina, Edouard and Whitney Lakes - December 2024




Waste Bin Rentals

County residents have two options for waste bin rentals.

The new fee schedule for Bin Rentals is effective as of February 1, 2020. 

Bin Front Load Bin P1020125

Household Waste (MSW)

To request a Bin Rental, please email [email protected] or phone 780-645-3301 ext. 1206     

 Acceptable and Prohibited Materials
4 or 6 yard Front Load Bin

Bin - Roll off Bin P1020127

Industrial & Construction Waste (INERT)

To request a Bin Rental, please email [email protected] or phone 780-645-3301 ext. 1206  

Acceptable and Prohibited Materials
30 yard Roll Off Bins

take it or leave it - jan 2020-2

Take it or Leave it sites are now available at all of the County Transfer Stations.

From January to May 31, 2020 the number of users of the Take it or Leave it sites was 644!

County of St. Paul 'Take it or Leave it Area' Policy

Trash Talk - Take it or Leave it Areas


If you have a Waste Management related question we invite you to contact the County of St. Paul using the contact information found on this page.

Contact Information

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 780-645-3301 ext. 1204

Warren Leister
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 780-645-3006 ext. 2235

5015 - 49 Avenue
St. Paul, AB  T0A 3A4

Regular Hours: 
8:30am - 4:30pm
Closed for lunch from 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Closed on all Statutory Holidays