Non-Residential Small Business Property Sub-Class Bylaw

The County of St. Paul Council passed Bylaw 2022-20 Non-Residential Small Business Sub-Class at the October 25, 2022 Council Meeting to allow non-residential properties to be divided into sub-classes. 

This Bylaw is to allow small business property owners who run a business (fewer than 10 full time employees across Canada) or who have a business leasing their property to apply for a reduced property tax rate for the 2023 Tax Year.  The property cannot be vacant and must have an assessable improvement. The tax rate will be determined annually by Council.

To apply for the non-residential business property tax rate, an annual application form is required to be completed (link to webpage).

The deadline to submit your application is December 31st, 2022. Eligibility requirements must be met for an application to be approved.

Should you have any questions regarding this Bylaw, please contact Crystal St. Arnault  780-645-3301 Ext. 1202.

Dated at St. Paul, Alberta, November 1, 2022.

Sheila Kitz, Chief Administrative Officer